top of page

Kwanzaa Suite

for Tenor & String Quartet

Score and parts available from Subito Music soon.

Click Here to view score.

Kwanzaa Suite was commissioned by the Apollo Chamber Players featuring tenor, Wanye Ashley. When pondering a work that could capture the spirit of the Kwanzaa celebration, I felt it best to approach the work with the structure of a suite in seven short movements. This would allow for each principle of the Nguzo Saba (one for each of the seven days of Kwanzaa) to have its own musical characteristics. In addition to the music, I’ve taken the time to study and become close with the seven principles. From this meditation, I have written seven short poems to accompany the music of each movement. It is a joy to add this work to the body of music that encompasses the spirit of such a culturally rich celebration.

bottom of page